home | biography | audio clips | booking & tour | gallery | links
© 2006 - All Rights Reserved

"...Brilliant, Exciting and 110% unusual. I find him independent, unassuming but confident, with a great deal of presence."                                                             
Catherine Filene Shouse, Founder of Wolf Trap   

"Wieniawsky's Concerto No. 2 in D minor, is a perfect example of the romantic virtuoso concerto, displaying not only the incredible technical capabilities of the instrument  but also a wide expanse of emotions.  These demands were not only met but exceeded by violinist Leonid Sushansky. He approached the work with passion, but always kept a sweet tone. He seemed to throw off the technical challenges as insignificant, yet always kept up the intensity. And his approach to phrasing was elegant, especially with final notes, which then took on a new life to begin another phrase."                                                         
The Washington Post  

"Astonishing... extraordinarily gifted."
The New York Times

"The soloist for Maryland Symphony's performance of Khachaturian's Violin Concerto was Leonid Sushansky, who possesses a direct lineage to this work. His mother and first teacher, violinist Rimma Sushanskaya, was a pupil of David Oistrakh, who premiered the work in 1940...Sushansky was at his best in the long lyrical lines...the extensive cadenza showed off Sushansky's mastery of double stops and his dramatic flair. "                             
The Herald-Mail   

"He plays with so much heart it makes you want to cry."                                     
Nina Totenberg, National Public Radio  

"Moscow-born Ms. Danchenko-Stern and Leonid Sushansky from St. Petersburg opened with J.M. Leclair's Sonata in D Major. The seamless chemistry between these gifted artists brought  thunderous applause from  an appreciative audience. Mr. Sushansky provided and entertaining and informative background on this selection and Tchaikovsky's Melody and Saint-Saens' Introduction and Rondo Cappricioso."                  
The US State Department Magazine 

"He is a very talented young artist whose technical prowess is matched by his sensitivity and musicianship."                                                                             
Daniel Heifetz   

"Sushansky...handled the instrument smoothly, bringing out many of the delicate shadings that can easily be lost in the performances of Bach's subtle compositions. This quality was especially apparent in the second movement, filled with its complex polyphony and patterns. Throughout, the violinist played with exquisite precision and feeling for the subtle tones characteristic of both Bach and all Baroque music."         
The Mail Tribune, Medford, Ore

"...brought the house down when he appeared here with the Grossman Orchestra...kept the audience enthralled to the last note."                                       
Metroviews, New York City     

"He performed Nardini's Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in E minor, sailing through the fast movements without an ounce of trouble. In the slower middle section, he brought out a more songful line that had a freshness and simplicity about it. His reading was clean, supple, elegant, and above all, impressive."                                   
The Greenwich Gazette  

"Mr. Sushansky possesses a very solid technique and commands a full rich tone from his instrument."
Il Progresso (Translated from Italian)

"His rich playing of works by Bloch, Prokofiev and Bizet / Waxman showed that he is comfortable in the role of a musical storyteller. In Bloch's "Baal Shem" Suite," he imbued the cheerfully romanticized Jewish folk melodies with gorgeous tone. He played with passionate and remarkably focused intensity."
The Washington Post

"Simply impeccable in the execution of works by Wieniawsky, Paganini and Kreisler." 
America Oggi                                                                                                             
"Leonid shows every sign of developing into a major violinist in his own right."                 
The Denver Post     

After Library of Congress performance  with pianist Vera Danchenko-Stern, congratulated by Linda Washington and Dr. James Billington, the Librarian of Congress.
In performance with Richard Weilenmann, conductor.
Warming up before recital in Fort Lee, NJ.
print friendly version
Rehearsing Mendelssohn with William Hudson and the Fairfax Symphony.